Willkommen Back! (updated)

With so much to report, I feel overwhelmed! But, I now recommence the narration of my recent nomadness: Setting: Austria, mostly Vienna Date arrived: August 7, 2013 Departure date: something 2014 Happiness level: 15/15 I have already lived an entire terrific month here in Europe. The craziness of my life has been recorded below for forever. Please, willkommen in to my life in Vienna, Austria.

Many international airlines. Very excite!

Many international airlines. Very excite!

IMG_0270_2

These horse-drawn carriages perpetually circle the inner-city circles.

These horse-drawn carriages perpetually circle the inner-city circles.

 

In her natural environment as tour guide, my european lover, Lizzie. :D

In her natural environment as tour guide, my european lover, Lizzie. ūüėÄ

IMG_0271_2

The palace of something or another!

The palace of something or another!

As it later turns out, this was actually a statue of a nonliving horse with a nonliving man on its back. Hm

As it later turns out, this was actually a statue of a nonliving horse with a nonliving man on its back.

European confusion-isms.

European confusion-isms.

A stately structure

A stately structure

IMG_0274_2 IMG_0273_2

Ve helpt dis trree boot killt two otters

Ve helpt dis trree boot killt two otters

Fresh righteousness.

Fresh righteousness.

At home in Klagenfurt

At home in Klagenfurt

I feel like Vienna largely resembles southern California, in that, people spend money! Styles and ¬†looks are important for the wieners (see German lesson 1) here. Beemers volks and audis are everywhere and seem to be the primary form of transport. An occasional Lamborghini, Bugatti Veyron, or even ferrari will pull up beside you as you cycle through the streets here. ¬†Although, public transportation is available to the furthest corner of the city. Also, there are no dents or scratches on the cars of up here. Lizzie says it’s because they fix them practically immediately. I opinion that driving is simply done correctly in Europe. (Interesting side note: the Ford Motor Company actually has efficient vehicles. But, Ford somehow only exports all their high efficient vehicles to Europe, without being able to provide their US of A with the same product. Well, never liked you anyway.) Also, Vienna is remarkably diverse, with all seven continents represented. Yup, Antarcticans included, I think.

Now! What follows is a quick lesson in the language of German, the language of Austria. This lesson includes two new but possibly familiar words: Wiener and Männer.
Wiener, pronounced vfee’ ner, meaning 1. ¬†Viennese; referring to a person from Vienna: specifically, a viennese man. 2. in english: A wiener; ¬†a sausage; a hot dog.
M√§nner means 1. more than one man; plural: men. Easy. But, Jarett’s street talk/slang translates “wiener M√§nner” as: hot dog dudes. Many of these dudes do eat hot dogs. Br√§twurst, is a german word and a very popular food not only in America, but here as well. Entertainingly, the aforementioned hot dog dudes also smell as if they all work in perfume shops with free cologne for advertising. It’s wonderful.
Now for the stories of my travels over the last month and some, in Austria. The various occasions are divided mostly by town or trek:

Klagenfurt:
Klagenfurt is one of the larger towns in Austria, and is also the temporary home of 7 years to the Warren Wilson family. Lizzie and I road the trane two Klagenfurt for my first weekend in Europe. I felt incredibly welcomed by Lizzie’s wonderful and generous parents, Paul (father) and Kathy (mother), with whom Lizzie and I shared numerous adventures. Klagenfurt is in the southwest of Austria, and is home to many delicious lakes. Literally delicious, one can scoop a pint of this crystal clear water from these lakes with a beer stein and drink it. In fact, the town mayor does it annually from der W√∂rthersee! I didn’t mind taking a drink when Lizzie, Juli, and I went there for a dip in the lake. As well, Klagenfurt is a¬†short 30 minutes to their mountain home at Buggl in Bach, which is near to yet another delicious mountain lake, the L√§ngsee.

Buggl in Bach:
https://jarettbigej.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/buggl-in-bach/

Admont:
After 7 years living in Austria, Lizzie naturally has lots of friends here. And, Juli, one of her closest, met us in Klagenfurt and drove us to Admont where we met her wicked boyfriend, Gigi . We spent a few days in this mountain town, climbing a mountain, birthday partying, and (for me) experiencing more and more of the Austrian culture! I was thrilled to learn that hearty and stodgy foods like potatoes, hefty meats, and doughy desserts are normal to this region of Europe. That was certainly a win.

Der Donauradweg Cycle Tour:
This delightful 7 day-6 night cycle tour took Kathy, Paul, Lizzie, and me all along the Danube river from Passau, Germany to Vienna!
https://jarettbigej.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/der-donauradweg-cycle-tour/

Austria is an incredibly beautiful country. It has further cemented my desire to live outside the United States when I am grown. A few more photographs here to illustrate the very historic and culture-filled Vienna (or Wien, in German):

IMG_0263_2IMG_0277_2 IMG_0278_2IMG_0281_2IMG_0289_2IMG_2486 IMG_2489 IMG_2500

IMG_0255_2

This is definitely Europe

My embarrassing lack of both commitment and blogging intensity will result in only just approximate monthly updates, as certain chronological dates do tell. Regardless of all, the happiness in my life is unmeasurable. I love my life, and I feel as though I’m living it fully. Now, I wish with all my heart the same for every one of my readers. Live, laugh, and go ahead, laugh again. Hugs and smiles to everyone! Jarett, out.

About Jarett Bigej

"It is impossible to eat an ice cream cone in a masculine way."
Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

