Albuquirky

January 2014 – January 2015

Albuquerque is home to the two things for which I am here, the University of New Mexico and my dearly beloved family – Brianne, Eric, and Kaia – of whom I have written before (when we met up in Quito, Ecuador in 2012).

I would not suggest that one research her moving to Albuquerque. Breaking Bad is clearly the only Google hit that will result. For me, though, Albuquerque, NM has become much, much more. I have left Albuquerque for many adventures, travels and otherwise. But, precedent to all, ABQ has been my home, thanks to Brianne and Eric. Take a look at a few crazy but beautiful memories…

Eric makes delicious food. Maduros ecuatorianos (Ecuadorian friend bananas)

Eric makes delicious food. Maduros ecuatorianos (Ecuadorian fried bananas)

Nonchalantly roasting marshmallows in the garden at Brianne and Eric's

Nonchalantly roasting marshmallows in the garden at Brianne and Eric’s

Bloody Abq buses... My arch-nemeses.

My nemesis

East Downton (EDo) Abq has been home for 9 months!

East Downton (EDo) has been home for 9 months!

My favorite and most beautiful niece, Kaia!

My favorite and most beautiful niece, Kaia!

My precious little sister, Tiana

My precious little sister, Tiana

Awesome piece of grafiti. Lizzie replicated the beaut on her own canvas!

Awesome piece of grafiti. Lizzie replicated the beaut on her own canvas!

Lizzie. Behind. Cactus.

Lizzie. Behind. Cactus.

Sushi time at Brianne and Eric's! They know how to cook! And eat!

Sushi time at Brianne and Eric’s! They know how to cook! And eat!

Tingley Beach, Abq. Home to vicious, hungry geese and the "Tingleys"

Tingley Beach, Abq. Home to vicious, hungry geese and the “Tingleys”

IMG_1465

I proposed. This was the result.

I proposed. This was the result.

Sushi with Brianne, Eric, and Kaia from 2013!

Sushi with Brianne, Eric, and Kaia from 2013!

Abq is also home to the Intl Balloon Fiesta! A definite highlight.

Abq is also home to the Intl Balloon Fiesta! A definite highlight.

Sandia Tram. Photo credit:  myself.

Sandia Tram. Photo credit: myself.

Typical Abq sunset. They're stunning!

Typical Abq sunset. They’re stunning!

We always have lots and lots of fruit. Otherwise Lizzie gets cranky

We always have lots and lots of fruit. Otherwise Lizzie gets cranky

No kings! #suicidalking

No kings! #suicidalking

A few fiestas out here during the summer months!

A few fiestas out here during the summer months!

A very classy toilet shot.

A very classy toilet shot.

Kitty!!

Kitty!!

IMG_0713

Lots of Skype sessions! Hello Lizzie's family!

Lots of Skype sessions! Hello Lizzie’s family!

Our idea of mulberry picking

Our idea of mulberry picking

Sweeping rain.

Sweeping rain.

Jarett and Lizzie Kardashian

Jarett and Lizzie Kardashian

Ruben had to get home. It was raining and he had Tara. He took our bike and put Tara in my backpack.

Ruben had to get home. It was raining and he had Tara. He took our bike and put Tara in my backpack.

Our awesome friend Laura!

Our awesome friend Laura!

Pure, raw sexiness. My friend since I was 12, Caleb!

Pure, raw sexiness. My friend since I was 12, Caleb!

Albuquerque is a unique place. I would be surprised to find a place with more people asking me for money. But I would also be surprised to find a place with friendlier, warmer, and crazier people than here. I have learned to love it, with all it’s insufficiencies. Above all, of course, is my family here. I will miss them beyond words. All that they have done for me, and continue to do… And so, this post is dedicated to them. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the love and support, Brianne, Eric, Kaia, John, and Tiana. I love you!

Next stop: Dubai!

About Jarett Bigej

"It is impossible to eat an ice cream cone in a masculine way."
Gallery | This entry was posted in U.S.A.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Albuquirky

  1. lovelymuggle says:

    I am enjoying so much going through all these blogs. I don’t know how I missed them! Its like a little treasure. I love your point of view and how you see life. So wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

